Learning something new every day!

I love everything about this photo! I’m excited about the color, the shadowing, and especially Liz – doesn’t she remind you of Shrek’s Fiona? Beautiful young woman! Most of all I love that I didn’t need to go to Photo Shop and fix it. I love it just the way it is!

Who ever came up with the idea of manuals?  I’m not a book learner and never have been. To sit down with a manual frustrates me. I’m an “on-the-job” learner and I’m ok with that. I’m a visual learner, I want someone to walk me through something, or a video or a class. Well this weekend…that has changed!

You see, a few years back, Brent bought me a new camera. A Nikon D80. It really was too much camera for me at the time, but I loved the feel of it. It felt like a real camera and I loved taking pictures with it. Yet I never have really been able to take it off the auto settings. Oh, a few friends have tried to teach me a thing or two, but mostly I really didn’t even know what they were talking about – like they were speaking a language I didn’t understand. As I continued to complain about my photo’s, Brent’s comments have always been….”You just need to read the manual”. This has never been a motivating comment for me.   In fact, I pretty much just want to scream back at him…”YOU READ THE MANUAL!”  I know…not a very loving thing to think, but it tells you how I really feel about reading manuals!  So, I continued to live with the frustration and knowledge, that my camera was built for something bigger and better than I was allowing.

So what does motivate me?  This weekend, I was asked by two families to take their family photo’s. I’ve done this before, even though I know I’m not a professional photographer – I’ve enjoyed the opportunities. Yet, I really wanted to improve on what I had done before.  So….I sat down and went on-line to a site where someone was able to walk me through every aspect of my camera. Well…to make a long story short….I LOVE MY CAMERA!  I can’t stop showing people all the little tricks I’ve learned.  How fun is this?  I still have a way to go, but I’m encouraged.

Wow…love the feeling of learning something and seeing the results of that knowledge.  Now if I can just put this into my language learning…..but that’s for another day!

5 thoughts on “Learning something new every day!

  1. Your pictures are amazing! Actually, I thought they were amazing before the manual. And, yes, your model needs to be in a fairy tale. Her very own princess story, where she saves the world!

  2. Pingback: Learning something new every day! | brentamywolff

Leave a Reply

